Call for fans to be part of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 opener - Wellington Basin Reserve
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-2302,single-format-standard,bridge-core-2.3.1,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-21.7.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0,vc_responsive

Call for fans to be part of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 opener

Call for fans to be part of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 opener

New Zealand sports fans are being urged to pack Tauranga’s Bay Oval to kick off ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in style, as the final schedule for the event is unveiled with hosts New Zealand taking on the West Indies in the opening match on 4 March.

The WHITE FERNS will take centre stage for the first game and will play at all six host city venues during their campaign. The schedule was confirmed after Bangladesh, Pakistan and West Indies all qualified, joining hosts New Zealand, Australia, England, India and South Africa in the event, with the final being played under lights at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on 3 April.

CWC22 CEO Andrea Nelson said: “What better way to launch CWC22 than with a full house under lights at the Bay Oval watching WHITE FERNS against the West Indies? It’s going to be a great day out, with some amazing opening celebrations planned before our WHITE FERNS stars, including Sophie Devine and Amelia Kerr, take on the West Indies and some greats of the game like Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin!”

“I’d encourage you all to get your friends and family along to the Bay Oval on 4 March for a spectacular start to what is going to be a memorable event! There is also free pop up childcare thanks to our partners PORSE, meaning all the family can enjoy themselves.”

Other highlights for newly qualified teams include:

  • Classic rivals India and Pakistan will meet under lights at Bay Oval on 6 March
  • A battle of the qualifiers between Bangladesh and Pakistan at Hamilton’s Seddon Park on 14 March
  • A replay of the 2013 Final between Australia and the West Indies at the iconic Basin Reserve in Wellington on 15 March

“Locking in the last places is great news for supporters planning their summer and our host cites, who can start connecting with fan communities in their area,” said Nelson.

The full schedule is available here, and fans can secure their spot in the stand or on the bank at

The World Cup will see 31 matches being played over 31 days across six host cities. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, the West Indies and hosts New Zealand are the eight teams in the fray.

Bangladesh, Pakistan and the West Indies were confirmed in the schedule after the qualifying tournament in Harare had to be called off due to COVID-19 concerns.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.